Mount Harmon Plantation is open to the public May 1 through October 31, Thursday through Sunday, 10:00 a.m. ~ 3:00 p.m. Guided tours are conducted on the hour, beginning at 10am, the last tour is conducted at 2pm.
Admission includes guided tour of manor house and plantation kitchen, self-guided tour of grounds and nature trials. To schedule a tour, receive a free Mount Harmon brochure, and for more information, contact Friends of Mount Harmon, Inc. at (410) 275-8819 or e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Education Program Tours & Special Group Tours by appointment year round. Living history and colonial craft demonstrations can be included with group tours by prior arrangement.
Call FOMH at 410-275-8819 for special school and group programs and rates, and schedule your visit back in time today.
Groups of 8 or more, please call in advance for reservations. We are not open on national holidays. Refreshments for group tours on site or luncheons at area restaurants can be arranged by advanced reservation for additional cost.
Planning Your Visit
Arriving by land: Mount Harmon’s scenic two-mile entrance lane has welcomed visitors by land for over two and a half centuries. The picturesque gravel entrance lane transports visitors back in time to a bygone era and is lined with gracefully cascading Osage Orange trees. Proceed 1.8 miles to end of entrance lane. Follow signs for visitor parking.
Arriving by water: Come to Mount Harmon by boat, as colonial-era visitors to Mount Harmon did in the 18th century. Mount Harmon is proud to welcome registered visitors and members via our new dock, located to the right and up the shore from the Prize House. The dock has a 30 ft T-head and floating dock. Dock coordinates are 39.22.44 N. 75.56.17 W. Head left from dock and follow arrows and mowed trail to manor house. All visitors by boat must register at Manor House (porch entrance) or be FOMH year round members. Visitors by boat are welcome May - October, Thursday - Sunday, 10am - 3pm, during tour hours. Year Round Members may enjoy the dock year round.
Points of Interest
Plantation HouseThe manor house is a three-story, five-bay, brick double pile structure which restoration architect Albert Kruse dated to 1730. The house is listed by the National Register of Historic Places. The manor house has been restored to the 1760 – 1810 period and is furnished with American, English, Irish and Scottish antiques, to reflect Mount Harmon’s owners of that period, who actively traded with the British Isles. The Chinese Chippendale staircase and elegant furnishings reflect the refinement of plantation culture in early America.
KitchenThe plantation kitchen recalls domestic life and work on a colonial American plantation. It stands apart from the manor house and was restored and furnished with authentic kitchen artifacts of the colonial era
Prize HouseMount Harmon was not only a successful tobacco plantation, but a local center for tobacco shipment for the Sassafras area. It boasts the northernmost existing tobacco prize house. "Prize" refers to the huge wooden screw used to compress tobacco from two casks into one for more efficient shipment.
|copyright © Mount Harmon Plantation
600 Mount Harmon Road
Earleville, MD 21919